(the life of lola)

navigate : > < x ? e x !
riding for the disease what can kill people 8:16 p.m. . 2005-01-21
It's been a long week. I've had this nasty cold that seemed to be getting worse and worse and worse until I finally went to the doctor yesterday. He gave me codeine and robitussin, which helped my cough tremendously, and this morning i awoke in much better condition. I had a plugged milk duct that resolved with the passing of these teeny little milk stones- no wonder it was so painful. And school and work and all that other business has meant that I'm a sick and busy girl. Tonight, after all has been said and done, I'm a little down.

I wanted to mention how having a child makes one totally immune to piles of crap on the floor. Our kitchen floor is covered in a fine layer of cheerios dust and the bedroom and living room are now officially plastered wall to wall with toys and baby clothes. Someone referred to our living room as the play room the other day and I almost cried.

So anyway, I'm tired and sick and just trying to get through the day and my friend Lars sent me the link to the AIDS Lifecycle thing. Which is the replacement for the AIDS Rides of the 1990's. My life revolved around the AIDS Rides for a few glorious years, so it was nice to see that they recovered from some major catastrophic internal problems and are back on track. I went to the site and looked at the photos from last year and it was like walking down memory lane. The faces are all new, but the photos could have been from one of my many AIDS Rides. (I did recognize the Chicken Lady in one photo though?) I miss those days. It was such a good time- we felt like we were doing such important work. We felt like we were saving the world, one litle bit at a time. I was in a constant state of inspire. (no, not perspire)

There is something special about people who take their own time and money to do something generous for people they don't even know. My friends from the AIDS ride were like that- so amazingly generous of time and spirit. They buouyed me up out of sadness and loss and grief and replaced those negative things in my life with pure goodness and joy. I miss those days, I really do. Right now I still feel like I'm doing something important, but I'm not joined in my altruism by 5000 of my closest friends, you know?

So if you're feeling generous or perhaps just have a little extra cash floating around, please go to this link to sponsor lars . and tell him lola sent you.

before now - now

last few entries

forwarding address - 2005-02-22
the duchess - 2005-02-13
dropping out for now. - 2005-02-01
crawly mcCrawlerson - 2005-01-31
riding for the disease what can kill people - 2005-01-21



� emmalola ; design by inez; hosted by diaryland






Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

Digs Ring
Join | List | Previous | Next | Random

Subscribe with Bloglines