(the life of lola)

navigate : > < x ? e x !
month update 11:10 a.m. . 2004-07-02
Our boy is now a month old. Well, he was a month old a few days ago, but I haven't been able to update until now. As of today he can track things with his eyes, focuses on little toys when they are interesting enough for him to pay attention, and he smiles and sometimes makes little cooing sounds. Right now he's sucking on his finger, but I'm not sure if that is a developmental milestone or just a fluke. The nursing is going a little better, he loves to ride around in his sling, and my back is aching!

The thing about parenting and nursing in particular that I didn't expect is the relentless nature of it all. Right now it's all about me and him. Sure he has a daddy, but daddy was just out of town for a four-day trip and we were able to get along pretty well. I needed some help with him during the days, but overall I felt we did okay. Since I have to feed him, and I'm the only one who feeds him, the responsibility falls on me. It's overwhelming.

I was pretty glad when sweets returned from his trip, if only to have someone else here to hold the lentil so I could do things like go to the bathroom and shower. I'm still having a hard time imagining accomplishing much more in my day than waking, feeding and perhaps getting out once to run a single errand, but overall we're adapting pretty well.

Oh, and can I say I get jealous when other people hold my son? I have a hard time letting him go. I do it because I also like to eat my meals with both hands on occasion, but I am always happy to have him back.

before now - now

last few entries

forwarding address - 2005-02-22
the duchess - 2005-02-13
dropping out for now. - 2005-02-01
crawly mcCrawlerson - 2005-01-31
riding for the disease what can kill people - 2005-01-21



� emmalola ; design by inez; hosted by diaryland






Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

Digs Ring
Join | List | Previous | Next | Random

Subscribe with Bloglines