(the life of lola)

navigate : > < x ? e x !
four months young 3:48 p.m. . 2004-09-29
We had our four month appointment today. The boy is in the 70th percentil for both weight and height. He's incredibly advanced. At least, that's what I gather from what the pediatrician told me. So maybe he didn't say the words "dougie houser" to me exactly, but they sounded something like that. So when the boy wakes from his nap I'll have him get to work on a few dissertation topics, just so he can mull them over before we set any firm deadlines with his committee.

School is well under way now and I'm only barely swimming. I have so much trouble in the mornings when I just don't want to leave my boy. It's not just that i have to pump three freaking times on the days I am at school, it's more than that. I just miss holding, smelling, playing with the baby. In fact, I get very little just me relaxing with baby time now and I really miss it. really really miss it. I never expected to feel so bonded to another person quite like this. I can see now why moms cry when their children go to college. I can see why mom's cry when their babies go to kindergarten. I cry when he goes to the bathroom all over me. I also cried when I had to leave him with another person all day the first time.

The good news is that I like the babysitters. They are all friends or family and we are very lucky to have this arrangement.

Dang, he's cute. Right now he's napped out in his carseat, all cute and bundled up in his little snail jacket. I can't believe I made him. dang.

In other good news, I got the big grant I was working on forever last spring. In a last minute decision, they pulled a fast one on me and granted me full funding. I almost wish some of my family was in health research so they would understand what a major deal this is. But I am happy nonetheless. I will be even happier when I can buy the new computer with my first check. When I told my mom she made some crack about how I should be paying for her health insurance, since I was making the big bucks now. I don't think she understands that the big bucks in academics is still woefully close to poverty. What a drag.

So, yeah, great baby, great grant. It's a pretty good week.

If you want to see photos of the boy, check out his website.

before now - now

last few entries

forwarding address - 2005-02-22
the duchess - 2005-02-13
dropping out for now. - 2005-02-01
crawly mcCrawlerson - 2005-01-31
riding for the disease what can kill people - 2005-01-21



� emmalola ; design by inez; hosted by diaryland






Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

Digs Ring
Join | List | Previous | Next | Random

Subscribe with Bloglines