(the life of lola)

navigate : > < x ? e x !
frizzle the rizzle 7:49 a.m. . 2003-06-13
the rain was so loud this morning it woke me up. and I don't even have to go to work. I'm a little bitter. I meant to write this entry just when I had gotten up, all cranky and such, but then I got into cruising the net and here it is hours later and I am much more chipper. even though I have been updating my satelite animation of the northeast every five minutes so I can watch this angry little rainstorm leave.

See, I was going to go for a long bike ride today. I am not getting anywhere running (get it?!) and just don't have the energy these days to go more than two miles. two miles is depressingly short. I can get up, go running, stretch and shower in an hour when I only run two miles. That's wuss. So I got out my beloved bike from days past, pumped up the tires and got all excited to go for a bike ride today.

Yes, I did look at the weather, and yes, I did read that there would be showers and fog this morning. I didn't realize it would be torrential floods. Yeah, Noah called. He wants his ark back. Anyway, it's far too wet to ride this morning. I am here, it's not quite eight in the morning, I want to go for a bike ride and we have another several hours of crap falling from the sky before it will be safe to go outdoors.

This shitty weather. I throw up my hands in disgust. If I wasn't flying to portland oregon tomorrow, I would be booking a flight for new mexico. I can't take this crap. I've had it up to here, mind-blowingly bad new england weather. You can take this job and shove it, I ain't working here no more. Good lord.

We have rain gutters, yet the rain is falling so quickly the water is just streaming off the roof like we were blessed with one of those corrugated tin roofs instead. The rain gutters are completely overwhelmed.

So, cycling. I was really into cycling for a few years. This was back when my tendinitis was so bad I couldn't practice- had been forbidden from practicing the instruments and I needed something to do with the newfound hours in the day. So I signed up to do the California AIDS Ride and started riding. I rode so much I even had little callouses on my butt. That's a lot of cycling. I'm telling you. Any time you do ANY activity so much you get a callous, you know something big is about to happen. My big was that I rode my bike five hundred plus miles from San Francisco to LA. then I got a job with the company so I could help other people make the "journey."

Yes, "journey." not the band. The heavily forum-influenced activity of participating in a massive bike ride from point a to point b. I was a believer. It was sickening. Yet, it was also amazing. I have mixed feelings about it. as if you couldn't tell. Anyway, I bought a super great bike, fell in love with cycling and then moved to connecticut where the motorists make it a practice to run cyclists off the road on a fairly regular basis. As a result, I don't ride much anymore. Don't ride much as in I haven't ridden this particular bike in over two years. depressing.

So I got all excited about (wait- woot! break in the rainstorm!) riding today and it was crap pajamas this morning. but maybe it will get better. I am hopeful, now that the birds have fished their babes out of the waterlogged nests and are giving us a little song to celebrate one whole rain-free moment. Hey, chickie!

it's all good. tho.

before now - now

last few entries

forwarding address - 2005-02-22
the duchess - 2005-02-13
dropping out for now. - 2005-02-01
crawly mcCrawlerson - 2005-01-31
riding for the disease what can kill people - 2005-01-21



� emmalola ; design by inez; hosted by diaryland






Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

Digs Ring
Join | List | Previous | Next | Random

Subscribe with Bloglines