(the life of lola)

navigate : > < x ? e x !
labor day weekend 4:18 p.m. . 2003-09-03
I just heard a screech and a bang and there was an accident outside my apartment. So I rushed outside thinking I would say something along the lines of "i'm a nurse practitioner who has yet to take her boards but I am studying to be a doctor of nursing, does anyone need my help?" Of course, that would just confuse them. bleeding and confusion just don't really go together. Good thing the accident happened just outside the fire department that I live near. There were about fifteen bored firemen wandering around the accident, looking firemanish and important. They would not have been impressed by my credentials. i guarantee it.

School started for me yesterday. In between tattoo lust I've been trying to figure out my schedule and attend classes and not feel both completely overwhelmed and totally out of my league. I think it's working. Today I deliberately chose not to work at hospice and instead to take care of little details and that is good.

Monday I ran a half-marathon with sweets. The first half was terrific! I was running well, my body was happy and everything looked like it was going to be great. We were cruising, passing people left and right. Then, at the halfway point I had my certified clif shot courtesy of fang and then things went downhill. Well, not downhill, really, because that would have been good under the circumstances. Really things kept going flat and straight, but my body felt a little pooped out. My right calf, in fact, freaked out and refused to run. It hurt! ow! hurt! had to stop. massage calf. reminisce about the soccer injury to that calf that happened in eighth grade. stretch. watch all those people we passed as they passed us. But after about two minutes I was able to shut out the pain and we started running again. I actually finished the race a whopping ten minutes faster than I did last year, so I think that qualifies as a personal best. If you care about these things. For myself, I just am happy that I did it in under two hours. One hour and fifty one minutes, in fact. very good.

Following this I went home and took a long bath and then we jumped in the car to go to a stuffy east coast engagement party being help for my oldest friend and her fiancee. it wasn't exactly fun, but it was nice to see friends. okay, that's a little harsh. it was fun, in an east coast way. Those of us from new mexico gathered together and talked about how different things would be if this party were happening in santa fe. for example, nobody would have brought any gifts. for example. i'm just saying.

Saturday was my sister in law's wedding. she married her perfect match. couldn't have been nicer.

That is labor day weekend for me. now, off to sketch out little tattoo designs.

tatas

before now - now

last few entries

forwarding address - 2005-02-22
the duchess - 2005-02-13
dropping out for now. - 2005-02-01
crawly mcCrawlerson - 2005-01-31
riding for the disease what can kill people - 2005-01-21



� emmalola ; design by inez; hosted by diaryland






Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

Digs Ring
Join | List | Previous | Next | Random

Subscribe with Bloglines