(the life of lola)

navigate : > < x ? e x !
this is not about eating other people after our plane crashes in the mountains 5:58 p.m. . 2003-12-17
I'm sort of worded out these days. Not a super suprise, considering I just had to write the papers for all mankind and all.

So I will share with you the joys of being a cancer nurse. I get to watch people go through the most amazing life experience and see how it all turns out. This job is pretty cool a lot of the time and depressing some of the time. I'm good at worrying about people, so that part works pretty naturally. I just finished work with a patient who made a transformation from being totally freaked out and never wanting to ever speak to another cancer survivor to joining a group of people who make public appearances as cancer survivors. It's fascinating and amazing to see humankind react to such emotionally heavy news.

See, I have no words. I feel like I sound like a thug today. "yeah, so like cancer nursing is cool. yeah! go yale!" duh. If I could stop drooling maybe this would go a little smoother. or less sticky at least.

We had a very sad loss yesterday at hospice. a 20-something year old man with a brain tumor. he was a PhD candidate in smart studies at Major University, and had only been married a year. very sad. He had just come into inpatient a week ago and had been walking around talking to people just days before his death. Usually brain tumor people take a very long time to die, so that was sad. I had another young brain tumor guy yesterday, and it was very sad to think that he will also be reduced to that long, drawn out death. crappy way to die.

But it reminds me that I am ALIVE! and happy.

before now - now

last few entries

forwarding address - 2005-02-22
the duchess - 2005-02-13
dropping out for now. - 2005-02-01
crawly mcCrawlerson - 2005-01-31
riding for the disease what can kill people - 2005-01-21



� emmalola ; design by inez; hosted by diaryland






Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

Digs Ring
Join | List | Previous | Next | Random

Subscribe with Bloglines