(the life of lola)

navigate : > < x ? e x !
mask-a-tron 7:46 p.m. . 2003-12-28
So I tried to update every day this month and I fell short. But I still like that I was able to update as many days in a row as I did. Now that the month is almost over, I see that it really wasn't that difficult. Most days that I didn't update I was either too exhausted to put thoughts together or I was just out of thoughts overall. Being in school can do that, you know.

The winter holiday was pretty interesting. There was the big baby book fiasco, which will go down in sweets' family as second only to the mask-a-tron incident of 1978. In this episode of Lola and the In-Laws, lola learned how to completely offend the new mother in law by taking her suggestion to heart. You see, weeks ago I told sweets he might mention to his mother that I would like a baby book for a holiday gift. He calculated in his head that I had already used up my alloted budget for gifts, and suggested instead that I tell his mother that HE wanted the baby book. I told her, and she said that she felt the baby book is a highly personal item that he should pick out himself. We shopped a little for said book and found nothing we liked, so we figured we would go to our favorite store in the whole world (Kate's Paperie, in manhatten) and buy it there. In the meantime, the mother in law decided that her son asked specifically that SHE buy him a baby book and took it upon herself to buy a baby book. So imagine her displeasure when I told her on dec 25th that we had found the perfect baby book.

well, she was pissed. and made a big scene over the whole thing, which meant I didn't get to give sweets his winter holiday gift because she would have had a coronary. crappy.

Anyway, we have since sort of figured out that she is kind of crazy and isn't adjusting well to the change in her son from boy to father. So she went completely haywire this holiday season and spent way too much money on gifts and screwed up the wish-list system, so we have to come up with a whole new set of gifts for his father to follow. It's all totally silly. i never thought I would be mad at someone for buying too many things for me or someone i loved.

The mask-a-tron incident, by the way, involved both the mother and the divorced father buying the two sons the same gift. the father happened to give his mask-a-tron first, so the boys had already played with the toy when she was to give her copy of the toy. She never really healed from the trauma and 25 years later it is still used as a potent cautionary tale in their family. Some people get worked up about starving babies in foreign countries, she loses her shit over giving the perfect holiday gift. whatever.

before now - now

last few entries

forwarding address - 2005-02-22
the duchess - 2005-02-13
dropping out for now. - 2005-02-01
crawly mcCrawlerson - 2005-01-31
riding for the disease what can kill people - 2005-01-21



� emmalola ; design by inez; hosted by diaryland






Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

Digs Ring
Join | List | Previous | Next | Random

Subscribe with Bloglines