(the life of lola)

navigate : > < x ? e x !
sleeping under the kitchen table 11:37 a.m. . 2004-01-16
Damn it's cold.

Actually, it's up to 17 degrees outside. The wind is horrific, but at least it isn't 2 degrees with horrific wind. at least. blah.

Thank you to those who made very kind and generous offers to shelter me from the cold. I keep telling myself it isn't that bad, but in truth it's pretty horrible right now. We have a space heater that I am dragging with me everywhere, and the cat has figured out that she will be happiest if she just sits and stares at the heater all day. It's a little odd, actually. Right now she's found a place where she can both sit in the sunbeam AND be within range of the space heater.

I believe that cold accumulates in places. Our apartment is always a lot less inviting when we return from a trip away, and it always seems to take twice as long before it heats up again. I struggle to keep warm now, and I know that even when the heat is repaired I will still struggle. There is just no escaping this cold. Although it was colder yesterday outside, I think it is far colder inside today. I'm not built to suffer through this kind of crap. I am built to spend the afternoon in a movie theater, which I have half a mind to do. I just wish I could bring my cat with me.

once I get my crap together, I am going over to a friend's house for the afternoon. There, I will read and try to ignore the fact that my cat is back here staring at the space heater. crap, it's cold.

And on top of everything else, I caught a cold from a certain chatty cathy who I already complained about in this digital realm. I wouldn't have gone to the mall with her had I known she had a cold and would be sniffling the entire hour long drive there. And now I am sniffling. Sniffling, and bitter cold. I really understand why they call it bitter cold. Because it makes you bitter.

When I was in the 6th Grade I had to do a presentation on a famous historic woman. I chose Marie Curie. Her whole story fascinated me, but there were a few key elements that really just stuck in my head. The first was the tragic death of her husband, Pierre. I promise you, no matter what source you go to you will always see mentioned the fact that he died when his head was "caught beneath a wagon wheel." I ruminated over that one for YEARS. Imagine, getting one's head caught beneath a wagon wheel (I have imagined this at least...). I'm sure it wasn't pretty. The other thing that stuck with me was how she was in a cold snap and all alone and poor, and to keep warm she piled all her clothes and furniture on top of her bed and then slept beneath it all. Imagine that! sleeping beneath furniture. Well, I never. Although I might if sweets can't fix the heater.

before now - now

last few entries

forwarding address - 2005-02-22
the duchess - 2005-02-13
dropping out for now. - 2005-02-01
crawly mcCrawlerson - 2005-01-31
riding for the disease what can kill people - 2005-01-21



� emmalola ; design by inez; hosted by diaryland






Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

Digs Ring
Join | List | Previous | Next | Random

Subscribe with Bloglines