(the life of lola)

navigate : > < x ? e x !
week 38 day 2 3:44 p.m. . 2004-05-12
Just got home from another OB appointment. Or should I say midwife appointment, since this time I was lucky enough to see the midwife. No matter, really. What matters is that it went well.

Update: The baby is engaged. Yay! I thought he wasn't because I am still feeling him really high and had more trouble breathing last night than I have had in awhile. (I ended up sleeping on the couch!) So his head is in position, and that's why i've been so darn uncomfortable. Or more uncomfortable than usual. Anyway, he's in position. The other good news: 80% effacement! Yay! That means the cramping and yuckiness I've periodically gone through is actually doing something. That is very good news.

More cramping and contractions today. I walked to the appointment and I don't think I've ever had a more uncomfortable six blocks in my life. They say that walking helps stimulate labor, and it sounds like a great idea, right? Well, they aren't talking about some lovely little stroll through the park. No sir, this is painful I have to pee and I have cramps and there is this body snatcher wiggling around without enough room kind of pain. Not the best sensation. But then again, it means I am getting closer to having the baby, so that is good.

The ongoing saga here is about my preliminary exams. I am too distracted to remember if I have already talked about this test here, but as background: all doctoral students are required to take a two day exam at the end of the first year. I have to pass to continue with the program. They are scheduled just days before my due date. The committe is very unflexible about when I take them. Today I asked again if I could postpone them and was told "probably not, unless you've just delivered." So I asked the midwife for a note excusing me from the exam for the time being. I figure, if I have to I will give them the note and for now I will just plan on taking the test as scheduled. We'll see what happens.

so that's the update for now. yay!

before now - now

last few entries

forwarding address - 2005-02-22
the duchess - 2005-02-13
dropping out for now. - 2005-02-01
crawly mcCrawlerson - 2005-01-31
riding for the disease what can kill people - 2005-01-21



� emmalola ; design by inez; hosted by diaryland






Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

Digs Ring
Join | List | Previous | Next | Random

Subscribe with Bloglines