(the life of lola)

navigate : > < x ? e x !
three weeks old 10:04 a.m. . 2004-06-19
They say the first six weeks are baby boot camp. I will now vouch for that. No sleep wasn't so bad at first, but I am realizing that the effect is cumulative and I am growing grumpier by the day. good thing my sweet prince is so charming. if only he could kiss me and then promise to sleep longer than two hours at a stretch.

He's gained a huge amount of weight already. He looks a lot like my horribly obese uncle stephen, actually. Today is his three week birthday, and he's already gained almost two pounds! two pounds is a huge amount when you started out at seven and a half pounds. It's all chin and cheek, I'm afraid.

the prince is making more eye contact and is starting to look like he wants to make deliberate facial expressions. Sweets swears he got a smile out of him the other day but I have my doubts.

My mother in law asked me yesterday if I felt like a mother. I didn't know quite how to answer, which is sort of good because I don't think she was actually expecting an answer anyway. I felt like a mother as soon as I knew he was coming, but at the same time I didn't. It is almost as though he is so precious I am half convinced that he is a fleeting presence in my life. Sort of like my attendance at Yale- I feel as though someone is going to figure out that I am a fraud any day now and they will come and take away my degree and throw me out of school. My prince is so precious, I live in fear that somebody will swoop in and say with a malicious chuckle that we don't REALLY get this amazing child, so sorry. There's been a mistake. etc. That's how wonderful he is.

He's so wonderful it is hard to believe he's real.

But then I remember that I will be waking up every two to three hours every night for an undisclosed amount of my future and am grounded again. Of course he's real. I couldn't dream up that kind of torture.

before now - now

last few entries

forwarding address - 2005-02-22
the duchess - 2005-02-13
dropping out for now. - 2005-02-01
crawly mcCrawlerson - 2005-01-31
riding for the disease what can kill people - 2005-01-21



� emmalola ; design by inez; hosted by diaryland






Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

Digs Ring
Join | List | Previous | Next | Random

Subscribe with Bloglines