(the life of lola)

navigate : > < x ? e x !
two weeks old. 11:00 a.m. . 2004-06-14
All of a sudden, trying to add a simple update has become next to impossible. How am I supposed to process, to muse, when I can only type with one hand? Oh, the crosses we bear.

A few notes:

1) breastfeeding hurts. I think the breastfeeding militia does a real disservice to women everywhere with their party line about how "if it's painful, the baby isn't latched on right." Yeah, well this baby is latched on well. We took care of that. But it STILL hurts. I called a midwife friend in my dispair and she agreed to the dirty secret that breastfeeding does in fact hurt sometimes. Which makes sense. It's not all a walk in the park. The books all talk about "tugging pressure" and "soreness" but they omit the "excruciating, toe curling stabbing pain" part. If I had known this would be the case, I would have been better prepared. I think they are trying to avoid women wussing out before they even try it. But I was committed from the start, and it was still a big suprise to learn just how much it hurts.

2) Babies are fabulous. Except at 4 in the morning when they want to play. Then they are a pain in the ass.

3) My sweets is amazing. He has taken to entertaining the bean during those 4 am playtimes so I can sleep. I don't think I could ask for more.

He's awfully cute. In fact, we love him dearly already. All those cliches about falling in love instantly etc are absolutely true. I can't believe the amount of pain I will endure for this little guy.

Right now he's starting to clue in to the faces and voices he's hearing. He makes eye contact, and loves sucking on our fingers. (no pacifiers in this house, so the sucking must be done on fingers. which makes it very difficult to sleep/type/cook dinner/talk on the telephone...) He's already outgrown the newborn size diapers and had many poop explosions from the size one diapers, so we're in a very unglamorous in-between stage. He has a full range of squeaks and whines and grunts that he freely uses at his convenience. And he loves to eat.

And me? I need a nap.

before now - now

last few entries

forwarding address - 2005-02-22
the duchess - 2005-02-13
dropping out for now. - 2005-02-01
crawly mcCrawlerson - 2005-01-31
riding for the disease what can kill people - 2005-01-21



� emmalola ; design by inez; hosted by diaryland






Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

Digs Ring
Join | List | Previous | Next | Random

Subscribe with Bloglines