(the life of lola)

navigate : > < x ? e x !
week 39 day 2 4:45 p.m. . 2004-05-19
Just got home after my week 39 OB visit. They checked me, and now I am one centimeter dilated and still somewhere between 60 and 80% effaced. I would be lying if I didn't confess to being fairly disappointed. Although I know that the baby could come any time, the odds are good that he will be late, and I will get to enjoy being pregnant for that much longer.

I think I've talked a little here about how I think the whole pregnancy trip is a long lesson in humility. I feel like so much of myself has had to be let go so I can have this child- pride, vanity, the good thrill of hard exercise, and the physical pleasure in enjoying simple movement. I've had to learn to find pleasure in activities that I wouldn't ordinarily be interested in (like spending six hours sitting on a birthing ball) and I've found myself discouraged by the lengthy list of things I can't enjoy any longer. Even simple things like finding a good position to sit in while watching television or reading just don't do it for me. What is the lesson I am supposed to learn from this experience? That raising a child is not only emotionally difficult, but is also painful? Okay, great spirit... I got that message. Thanks. I'm reading you loud and clear! Cheers! Can we move on now?

before now - now

last few entries

forwarding address - 2005-02-22
the duchess - 2005-02-13
dropping out for now. - 2005-02-01
crawly mcCrawlerson - 2005-01-31
riding for the disease what can kill people - 2005-01-21



� emmalola ; design by inez; hosted by diaryland






Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

Digs Ring
Join | List | Previous | Next | Random

Subscribe with Bloglines