(the life of lola)

navigate : > < x ? e x !
- 6:19 p.m. . 2004-01-01
Happy new year. Resolutions for this year? survive. turn things in on or before the deadline. don't freak out (too frequently). have a healthy baby and a good birth. find a place of peace with body issues while my body grows with el bebe. Write that manuscript and send it off. survive.

Last night we had a very quiet night in with the other pregnant couple we know. we played poker and I lost. we played scrabble and I won. not a bad night overall.

Here's my list:

1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before? Got knocked up. Graduated from grad school. Went to big conferences and scored cool stuff from the drug companies. Participated in a cancer researchers training program made just for natives. finally found a job working as a hospice nurse and fulfilled that long-time goal. Signed up to run a marathon (but got knocked up.)

2. Did you keep your New Years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I don't remember.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? digsfolks many and beloved.

4. Did anyone close to you die? Actually, I got a break from funerals this year. What a relief.

5. What countries did you visit? I traveled all over the U.S., if that counts.

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003? time. money. world peace.

7. What date from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? September 21, when I found out I was pregnant.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Working as a nurse for hospice, after being afraid to do it for so long. Oh, and getting pregnant, but that was far easier than I expected.

9. What was your biggest failure? Not writing up that dang manuscript. crap!

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? My migraines took a hiatus in exchange for morning sickness. No injury!

11. What was the best thing you bought? Dang, I don't think I had time to buy anything. Maybe the two sort of matching shelve things in the living room?

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration? Sweets, of course. He went above and far beyond the call of duty when I was feeling most icky. And my friend the ovarian cancer survivor was remarkably level headed and wonderful, but that isn't anything unusual. i just wanted to throw that in there because I think she's the peachiest.

13. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed? My stinking brother. BLAH!

14. Where did most of your money go? bills. cable television. school supplies and crafty supplies.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? the lil' lentil.

16. What song will always remind you of 2003? sadly, I confess it will probably be "hot in herre." or however you spell that stupid song.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you...

i. happier or sadder? Happier.

ii. thinner or fatter? much fatter!

iii. richer or poorer? Poorer in cash but richer in spirit.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of? played. so sad, I know.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of? complaining.

20. How will you be spending Christmas? I was in providence, RI with my in-laws.

22. Did you fall in love in 2003? yep. with my wonderful life, with the black and white image of our little boy, with my sweets. every day I am in love with my sweets. except maybe the days when we are fighting. then I am only sort of falling in love with my sweets.

23. How many one night stands? heee!

24. What was your favourite TV programme? Carnavale, Angels in America, and Six Feet Under. I told you I spent money on cable.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year? I try not to hate people.

26. What was the best book you read? I don't remember.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery? how much I love playing the piano. again.

28. What did you want and get? a glider rocker. a job.

29. What did you want and not get? an ipod (fingers still crossed, though!)

30. What was your favourite film of this year? Lost in Translation

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I graduated from grad school with about 75 of my closest friends. Then my family came to my house and we sat around and ate pizza and had a very nice time. It was my 30th.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? more drugs.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003? try to look like I care about what I wear. then, try to look pregnant and not just grossly fatty.

34. What kept you sane? diaryland. sweets. reading bad fiction late into the night. citrucel.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? forever ewan. and Nick Hornby.

36. What political issue stirred you the most? that god-forsaken war.

37. Who did you miss? grandma. home.

38. Who was the best new person you met? my new doctoral classmates, except for a few of them. just kidding. (maybe.)

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003. Birth control pills work.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year. dang. for lack of a better one (and running out of time here...)

when i need to wipe my face

i use the back of my hand

and i like to take up space

just because i can

and i use my dress

to wipe up my drink

i care less and less

what people think

and you are so lame

you always disappoint me

it's kinda like our running joke

but it's really not funny

i just want you to live up to

the image of you i create

i see you and i'm so unsatisfied

i see you and i dilate

so i'll walk the plank and i'll jump with a smile

if i'm gonna go down

i'm gonna do it with style

and you won't see me surrender

you won't hear me confess

'cuz you've left me with nothing

but i've worked with less

and i learn every room long enough

to make it to the door

and then i hear it click shut behind me

and every key works differently

i forget every time

and the forgetting defines me

that's what defines me

from Dilate, by Ani Difranco.

so that's it for now. tune in next time for more from the lola show.

before now - now

last few entries

forwarding address - 2005-02-22
the duchess - 2005-02-13
dropping out for now. - 2005-02-01
crawly mcCrawlerson - 2005-01-31
riding for the disease what can kill people - 2005-01-21



� emmalola ; design by inez; hosted by diaryland






Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

Digs Ring
Join | List | Previous | Next | Random

Subscribe with Bloglines